Hello again California!!! Any tips?

If you haven’t seen the about yet, here’s the quick story.  I did undergrad in the Bay Area, left back to Texas for a while, and came back to Northern California as quickly as I could… I very happily find myself in Sacramento, CA with my wife Stephany.

As my wife will be very busy shortly as an internal medicine intern, I’m stepping up as “head chef” of the household, but I want to do this in a way that embraces foods that are healthy, cheap, local, and organic, and probably in that order.  I liked one of the opening paragraphs of this link:

There exists, somewhere between the fearsome mass-ness of the mainstream grocery store and the high-pitched good works of the coop, farmer’s market, or CSA, a world in which low prices are valued slightly higher than locality of the source but, more than anything, the products must be good. Fair-trade, organic, without trans-fatty acids, with fewer artificial colorings or preservatives or Disney characters than all the other products.

So, back in Texas, my wife and I usually went to one of the big-chain grocery stores (that’s what was available, given Whole Foods is beyond our budget), and simply tried to purchase enough food to last us at least a good 3 weeks if not a whole month.  This would not come out too expensive, and we’d do ok, but we had a lot of food we had to freeze ourselves to preserve, from who knows where, and it was good… not great, but good.

Here, I want to try a different approach, and I hope I can still keep the cost down while investing more locally and organically: I’ll try to shop multiple stores more often.  My aim is to try to buy food for a weekly basis (so that the food lasts about that long), and I’ll try to work up my menu for the week so I can shop specifically for that purpose.  Hopefully I don’t have to freeze anything unnecessarily and can eat items in a fresher state.  So far, I’m in love with Trader Joes (yes, that’s a big deal to me coming from TX, more on that later), and I’m eager to see the farmers market.

So, my current ask to the readers – do you have any tips here?  Anywhere in the Sacramento-proper area that I should check out?  Any good habits?  I’m all ears!

One response to “Hello again California!!! Any tips?

  1. nico i love your inspartion on food i think you are natural at this

    lauren

Leave a Reply

